Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
November 9, 2017






Rose Bowletin - Week  11

 

Week ten resulted in one of the largest re-shuffles of the rankings in recent history. Nine ranked teams lost, including No. 6 Ohio State, No. 7 Penn State and No. 11 Oklahoma State. On top of those losses, No. 4 Clemson and No. 5 Oklahoma barely squeaked out victories.

 

But it's a new week, and with a new week comes new chaos. Welcome to week 11.

 

This week has seven matchups of ranked opponents, including five matchups where both teams are ranked in the top-16. The most compelling games of the ranked matchups include the top teams in the country: Georgia and Alabama. 

 

No. 1 Georgia will travel to No. 10 Auburn to take on the Tigers. It will be the Bulldogs first SEC road test as Auburn has scored more than 40 points in four of its last five games. 

 

No. 2 Alabama heads to Starkville, Mississippi, to take on No. 16 Mississippi State in what figures to be the toughest game for the Crimson Tide this season. These Bulldogs haven't beaten Alabama since 2007, but when Starkville gets rockin', the Bulldogs get rollin'.

 

In the other ranked matchups, No. 3 Notre Dame and No. 7 Miami renew a rivalry that has bad blood dating back to the 1980's. No. 5 Oklahoma and No. 6 TCU come together in Norman, Oklahoma, in what could be a preview of the Big 12 Championship Game. Finally, No. 13 Ohio State hosts No. 12 Michigan State in Columbus for the game that will likely decide the Big Ten East.

 

There is a large shake-up coming in the polls. But before we get to the weekend, let's take a look at the action tonight and tomorrow:  

 

Thursday, November 9

Ball State at Northern Illinois, 7 pm ET/4 pm PT, CBSSN

Georgia Southern at Appalachian State, 7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT, ESPNU

North Carolina at Pittsburgh, 7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT, ESPN

 

Friday, November 10

Temple at Cincinnati, 7 pm ET/4 pm PT, ESPN2

Dartmouth at Brown, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT, NBCSN

BYU at UNLV, 10:30 pm ET/7:30 pm PT, ESPN2

Washington at Stanford, 10:30 pm ET/7:30 pm PT, FS1

 

 

If you enjoy the Rose Bowletin, but don't receive it regularly, send an email to dingels@tournamentofroses.com to be added to the weekly list!

 

Be sure to follow the Rose Bowl Game on Twitter or Facebook and visit www.rosebowlgame.org for updates this weekend and throughout the entire 2017 season.  

 

 


Doug Ingels
Media Coordinator, Rose Bowl Game

dingels@tournamentofroses.com

 
Community Search
Sign In


Calendar